The 12 Cellists play the tango

»When I listen to the music that is featured in this album, it seems to me to be little short of a miracle that we recorded it all without a conductor, so complex and varied is it. It took fifteen years from our earliest beginnings to the finished product. I am profoundly grateful to my colleagues for ensuring that by working closely together they have been able to grant me this heartfelt wish. Thank you to everyone who has contributed to making this CD a reality.«
David Riniker, cellist and arranger

Discover this CD on:

  •  iTunes
  •  Amazon CD

The tango and the 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic – a beautiful old love affair that has lost none of its passion over the years. Quite the opposite: at the start it was practical considerations that proved determinative and that Martin Menking describes as follows: »It has always been a challenge for us to find the right mix of serious and light music for our programmes. For some people the result seems too classical, for others it is lacking in seriousness.« Tangos are the »ideal solution«, although it took some time to get close to this style.

David Riniker recalls presenting his first arrangement of a tango to his colleagues in 2001 and having it rejected out of hand on the grounds that it was »too difficult«. According to Ludwig Quandt, the 12 Cellists felt that the tango was »new and strange, but we also felt that it would never let us go again«. Quandt can also recall the reason for their growing enthusiasm: »It was due first and foremost to Astor Piazzolla, of course, this brilliant rebel who left the beaten track with his tango nuevo and in doing so breathed new life into the tango.«

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uew Aren

And it is undoubtedly true that without Piazzolla we would think only of sentimental clichés each time that we heard the word »tango« – lovesick glances and roses clasped between the dancer’s teeth. It required Piazzolla to reveal the infinite possibilities concealed within the tango’s world of expression, and this was possible only because he was at home in the most disparate styles. The son of Italian parents, he was born in Argentina in 1921 but he and his family emigrated to New York in 1924. There his homesick father would spend his entire day listening to tangos. By the time that Piazzolla returned to Buenos Aires in 1937, this style was in his blood, although the great loves of his musical life were jazz and the works of Bach.

Only gradually did he devote himself to the tango, playing the bandoneón in bars and nightclubs, while seeing his future in contemporary classical music. Thanks to the intermediary of Artur Rubinstein he became a composition student of Alberto Ginastera and then moved to Paris to study with Nadia Boulanger. In his memoirs he has left a graphic account of his showing the legendary teacher »my kilos of symphonies and sonatas«. They were »well written,« she declared, here a bit of Stravinsky, there a bit of Bartók and Ravel, »but I can’t find Piazzolla in this«. Finally she forced the intimidated Piazzolla to admit that he was really a nightclub musician. When he played her his tangos, it was clear to her that here was the real Piazzolla.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Asked how to identify a good musician, Martin Menking replies: »Unlike the less good ones, he has his own distinctive musical language, he doesn’t sound like anyone else but he is it.« Piazzolla’s hallmark is just such a powerful individuality, and the same is true of his tango nuevo. The novelty of the tango nuevo lies in the fact that it does not simply repeat the same tired patterns and rhythms. Everything is possible, every experiment, every merger with other styles.

In this sense Piazzolla’s most famous work, his Libertango, may be regarded as a kind of confession of his faith. Its title combines the words libertad (freedom) and tango and in that way celebrates its release from the traditional tango. It features all of the energy and passion that we expect from a tango but it also contains an infinite variety of subtle nuances. This music soars, but it is also lively, mysterious and ingratiating by turns – an emotional world tour within the narrowest conceivable confines.

Or listen to the way in which Piazzolla explores the hackneyed theme of loneliness in Soledad: the nostalgic theme emerges from the vague and tentative opening bars before blending with dissonant sound-surfaces and never descending into sentimentality. Rarely has the pain of loneliness been as genuinely captured in music as it is here.

In general, Piazzolla’s concern is real life unfiltered by any distorting lens. Time and again it breaks out of his music. In Buenos Aires hora cero, for example, we hear the noises of the metropolis at night, including the sirens of the emergency services, creating an atmospheric portrait that comes close to a symphonic poem. Of particular interest in this context is the prominent role that Piazzolla accords to language, which he often reproduces in his music, resulting in a quite astonishing effect, whereby real people actually seem to set foot on the stage. Duo de amor starts with a recitative for the two lovers and creates the impression of a dialogue right up to its final bars.

In Lunfardo Piazzolla even admitted that his theme was language or, to be more exact, the Lunfardo dialect of the capital’s immigrants, a dialect which, like the tango, is the product of a subculture. In addition to his major themes, all of which were grounded in society, Piazzolla also described his own experiences in his music.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Escualo (The Shark) is one such case: here the enthusiastic fisherman captures his encounters and struggles with a shark in music that is mordant in the extreme. In Pedro y Pedro he has created a very personal tribute to two bandoneón players, Pedro Maffai and Pedro Laurenz. This music never seems studied but appears to spring from the moment, so that the emotions that it expresses are all the more authentic in consequence.

An echo of unvarnished reality and innovative sounds and noises – these are modern concepts, of course, and they reflect Piazzolla’s original desire to become a leading composer of serious music. In the case of the present album, his ambitions in this regard are illustrated most clearly by Tres minutos con la realidad (Three Minutes with Reality), the title of which could almost be a motto for the style of Piazzolla’s tangos in general. It should be mentioned that Piazzolla wrote this work after hearing Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto, and it may also be possible to hear in it an echo of the archaic rhythms of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. But Piazzolla is no longer an imitator, as he had been during his youth. The solid foundations of his style provided him with the strength that he needed to confront his great colleagues with the self-assurance of an equal.

We may ask ourselves where simple enjoyment is to be found in all this. After all, Piazzolla said of himself that he loved pleasure, a good wine and life in general. Did he never write a piece of music that is light-hearted from first to last? The answer is no. Revirado (Mad) may begin by striking a high-spirited note, but its central section speaks, rather, of desolation, reflecting the sort of contrast familiar from Brahms’s Hungarian Dances. And the same is true of Caliente, the very title of which conjures up the notions of heat, liveliness and sexual excitement. All of these qualities resonate in the opening bars of this tango, before – almost predictably – a mood of depression descends.

Calambre (Pride) starts off by striking a note of self-assurance in keeping with its title, but such pride is flawed, leading to an increasing loss of balance, and is clearly just a front. In Decarismo – a tribute to the violinist, bandleader and composer Julio De Caro – the situation is reversed, the melancholy brooding of the opening giving way to an almost optimistic boisterousness. Nowhere in Piazzolla’s music will we find an unambiguous and, therefore, two-dimensional feeling.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Piazzolla died in 1992, but the tango lives on not only in the style that he reinvigorated but also in its traditional form. This point is well illustrated by the present album. A representative of the younger generation of Argentine composers is Pasquale Stafano who, like Piazzolla, has made his mark with his imaginative fusion of tango and jazz.

José Carli offers us two Argentine character studies: first, a Diquera (the word means a provocative woman) and, second, a portrait of the tango pianist Para Osvaldo Tarantino, which also includes a wonderfully nostalgic reminiscence of the older type of tango. Among its most prominent exponents is Horacio Salgán, a contemporary of Piazzolla, who is represented here by arguably his most famous composition, A Don Agustín Bardi.

Piazzolla inspired not only a later generation of tango composers but also legions of arrangers. Anyone looking for arrangements of Libertango, for example, will stumble upon the most incredible interpretations: from Grace Jones to a Japanese ukulele duo, no stone has been left unturned. An arrangement of Piazzolla’s compositions for cello ensemble is a relatively obvious idea since the timbre of Piazzolla’s instrument, the bandoneón, is not very different from that of the cello.

In spite of this, arranging this music for cellos turned out to be a Herculean task, as David Riniker explains: »I didn’t have the music for most of these pieces but copied them out by repeatedly listening to recordings, with the result that it sometimes took several months to prepare a single arrangement. During the most intensive period, the work would whirl round in my head day and night. Sometimes I would dream about it. And sometimes the solution to a particular problem was clear to me by the following morning.«

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Also of importance is the fact that these arrangements were not prepared for any anonymous cellists but for a particular ensemble. Each part is written with a specific player in mind and reflects his or her predilections and abilities. This process, too, is time-consuming, but it takes full advantage of the potential of the 12 Cellists. David Riniker was all the more delighted, therefore, when Bruno Delepelaire became the orchestra’s principal cellist in 2013, for here is a musician whose technical gifts seem boundless. It was for him that Riniker wrote the virtuoso solo in Tres minutos con la realidad.

Only one conclusion can be drawn from the fact that the 12 Cellists are willing to make such an effort: their love of the tango is at least as great as it was when they first discovered it. And what is the reason for their enthusiasm? A comment by Ludwig Quandt may provide an answer: »Your average tango lasts between three and six minutes, so it’s a fairly short piece. Why is it, then, that it gives the impression of constituting a world of its own? Is it the power of its themes, some of which consist of only a few notes? Is it the harmonic writing, with its powerful and sometimes abrupt shifts? Is it the contrast between lyricism and motoric rhythms, between stasis and breakneck speeds, between love and hopelessness? The only possible answer is this: yes, it is all of these things and more – it is life in all its richness.«

Discover this CD on:

  •  iTunes
  •  Amazon CD

Credits:

Hora Cero: Die 12 Cellisten spielen Tango

»Wenn ich die Musik dieses Albums durchhöre, erscheint es mir fast wie ein Wunder, dass wir alles ohne Dirigent aufgenommen haben, so komplex und vielfältig ist diese Musik. 15 Jahre brauchte es von den allerersten Anfängen bis zur fertigen Aufnahme. Ich bin meinen Kollegen zutiefst dankbar, in gemeinsamer Zusammenarbeit diesen Herzenswunsch erfüllt bekommen zu haben. Danke an alle, die dazu beigetragen haben, dass diese CD nun Wirklichkeit geworden ist.«
David Riniker, Cellist und Arrangeur

Mehr von dieser CD entdecken bei:

  •  iTunes
  •  Amazon CD

Der Tango und die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker: Das ist eine schöne, alte Liebe, die mit den Jahren nichts an Leidenschaft verloren hat. Im Gegenteil. Am Anfang standen eher praktische Überlegungen, die Martin Menking so beschreibt: »Die richtige Mischung aus 'ernster' und 'heiterer' Musik für ein Programm zu finden, ist für uns immer wieder eine Herausforderung. Den einen ist das Ergebnis hinterher zu klassisch, den anderen zu unseriös.« Tangos seien da »eine ideale Lösung« – wobei die Annäherung an diesen Stil ihre Zeit brauchte.

David Riniker erinnert sich, wie er 2001 seinen Kollegen seine erste Tango-Bearbeitung präsentierte, die postwendend – »weil zu schwer« – abgelehnt wurde. »Neu und fremd«, so Ludwig Quandt, sei der Tango für die Cellisten gewesen, »aber wir spürten auch, dass er uns nie wieder loslassen würde«. Quandt kann auch den Grund für die wachsende Begeisterung benennen: »Das lag natürlich vor allem an Astor Piazzolla, diesem genialen Rebellen, der mit seinem ›Tango nuevo‹ alte Pfade verlassen und damit dem Tango neues Leben gegeben hat.«

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uew Aren

In der Tat: Ohne Piazzolla würden wir beim Stichwort Tango wohl nur an sentimentale Klischees denken – an schmachtende Blicke und Rose zwischen den Zähnen. Erst Piazzolla hat erschlossen, welche unendlichen Ausdruckswelten im Tango verborgen sind. Möglich war das, weil er selber in den unterschiedlichsten Stilen zu Hause war. 1921 als Kind italienischer Eltern in Argentinien geboren, verbracht er seine frühen Jahre in New York, wo der heimwehkranke Vater von morgens bis abends Tangos hörte. Als Piazzolla 1937 nach Buenos Aires zurückkehrte, war dieser Stil ihm zwangsläufig ins Blut übergegangen, seine Liebe gehörte jedoch dem Jazz und der Musik Bachs.

Erst allmählich widmete er sich auch dem Tango und trat als Bandoneon-Spieler in Bars und Nachtclubs auf. Seine Zukunft aber sah er in der zeitgenössischen klassischen Musik. Auf Vermittlung Artur Rubinsteins wurde er zunächst Kompositionsschüler von Alberto Ginastera und ging dann nach Paris, um bei Nadia Boulanger zu studieren. Piazzolla hat anschaulich geschildert, wie er »kiloweise Symphonien und Sonaten« vor der legendären Lehrerin ausbreitete. Ihr Urteil: Gut geschrieben, hier wie Strawinsky, da wie Bartók, dort wie Ravel – »aber ich finde nirgendwo Piazzolla.« Schließlich nötigte Madame Boulanger dem verschüchterten Piazzolla das Geständnis ab, er sei eigentlich Nachtclub- Musiker. Als er ihr dann einen seiner Tangos vorspielte, war die Sache klar: Hier war der eigentliche Piazzolla.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Martin Menking beantwortet die Frage, woran man einen guten Komponisten erkennt, so: »Er hat, anders als die nicht so guten, eine sehr eigene und unverkennbare musikalische Sprache, er klingt nicht ›wie‹ jemand, sondern er ›ist‹ es.« Eine solche starke Individualität ist das Markenzeichen Piazzollas – und des von ihm entwickelten Tango nuevo. Dessen Neuartigkeit besteht eben darin, dass er nicht die immer gleichen Muster und Rhythmen aufwärmt. Alles ist möglich, jedes Experiment, jede Verschmelzung mit anderen Stilen.

Eine Art Glaubensbekenntnis in diesem Sinne ist Piazzollas berühmtestes Werk Libertango (Hörprobe bei Amazon), dessen Titel die Begriffe »Libertad« (Freiheit) und Tango verschmilzt und damit die Loslösung vom überkommenen Tango feiert. Es gibt hier all die Energie und Leidenschaft, die man von einem Tango erwartet, dazu aber auch eine unendliche Palette feinster Nuancen. Schwebend und zackig zugleich ist diese Musik, mysteriös und umschmeichelnd: eine emotionale Weltreise auf engstem Raum.

Oder man höre sich an, wie Piazzolla in Soledad (Hörprobe bei Amazon) das viel strapazierte Thema der Einsamkeit neu auslotet. Aus einem vernebelten Tasten schält sich das nostalgische Thema heraus, mischt sich mit herben Klangflächen, wird nie larmoyant. Selten wurde der Schmerz der Einsamkeit so echt in Musik gefasst.

Überhaupt: das wirkliche, ungefilterte Leben. Immer wieder bricht es sich Bahn in Piazzollas Musik. Zum Beispiel in Buenos Aires hora cero (Hörprobe bei Amazon), wo die Geräusche der nächtlichen Großstadt – bis hin zu den Sirenen der Einsatzfahrzeuge – ein Stimmungsbild erzeugen, das einer symphonischen Dichtung nahekommt.

Interessant ist in diesem Zusammenhang auch die prominente Rolle der Sprache bei Piazzolla. Oft bildet er sie musikalisch nach, mit dem verblüffenden Effekt, dass konkrete Menschen die Szene zu betreten scheinen. So ist es im Duo de amor (Hörprobe bei Amazon), das mit einem Rezitativ der beiden Liebenden beginnt und bis zum Schluss den Eindruck eines Dialogs vermittelt.

In Lunfardo (Hörprobe bei Amazon) hat Piazzolla sogar erklärtermaßen die Sprache zum Thema gemacht – genauer gesagt, den Einwanderer-Dialekt Lunfardo, der mit dem Tango gemein hat, Produkt einer Subkultur zu sein. Neben den großen, der Gesellschaft abgelauschten Themen hat Piazzolla auch sein ganz eigenes Erleben in Musik gesetzt.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Escualo (Hörprobe bei Amazon) ist so ein Fall, in dem der begeisterte Angler Piazzolla seine Begegnungen und Kämpfe mit dem Raubfisch mit einer ausgesprochen bissigen Musik reflektiert. In Pedro y Pedro (Hörprobe bei Amazon) wiederum formuliert er eine ganz persönliche Hommage an die Bandoneonisten Pedro Maffai und Pedro Laurenz. Nicht konstruiert, sondern wie aus dem Moment geboren klingt diese Musik, wodurch ihr Gefühlsausdruck nur umso authentischer wirkt.

Der Nachhall der ungeschminkten Wirklichkeit, die innovativen Klänge und Geräusche in dieser Musik: Das sind natürlich moderne Konzepte, aus denen nicht zuletzt Piazzollas ursprüngliche Ambition spricht, ein bedeutender Komponist der E-Musik zu werden. Auf diesem Album zeigt sich diese Absicht am deutlichsten in Tres minutos con la realidad (Hörprobe bei Amazon), dessen Titel – »Drei Minuten mit der Wirklichkeit« – fast ein Motto von Piazzollas Tango-Stil sein könnte. Es ist dem Stück anzumerken, dass es entstand, nachdem Piazzolla Bartóks Zweites Violinkonzert gehört hatte. Auch die archaische Rhythmik von Strawinskys Le Sacre du printemps scheint nachzuklingen. Aber anders als in seiner Jugend ist Piazzolla hier kein Epigone mehr. Das sichere Fundament seines Stils gibt ihm die Kraft zur selbstbewussten Auseinandersetzung mit großen Kollegen.

Man kann nun fragen: Wo bleibt das schlichte Vergnügen? Piazzolla hat von sich selbst gesagt, dass er das Vergnügen, einen guten Wein und überhaupt das Leben liebe. Und da soll er nie eine durchgehend leichtherzige Musik geschrieben haben? So ist es tatsächlich. Revirado (Hörprobe bei Amazon) beginnt zwar als Musik gewordene Ausgelassenheit, schwenkt dann aber in einen desolaten Mittelteil: ein Kontrast, wie man ihn von Brahms’ Ungarischen Tänzen her kennt. Ähnlich Caliente (Hörprobe bei Amazon), dessen Titel für Hitze, Lebhaftigkeit und sexuelle Erregung steht. All das schwingt im Beginn dieses Tangos mit, ehe sich eine fast absehbare Katerstimmung breitmacht.

Calambre (Hörprobe bei Amazon) gibt sich – seinem Namen entsprechend – durchgehend selbstbewusst, doch der Stolz erhält Risse, gerät zunehmen aus der Balance, ist offenbar nur Fassade. Immerhin: In Decarismo (Hörprobe bei Amazon) – einer Huldigung an den Geiger, Orchesterleiter und Komponisten Julio De Caro – ist die Dramaturgie umgekehrt und führt von melancholischem Grübeln in eine fast optimistische Aufgekratztheit. Das eindeutige und damit eindimensionale Gefühl indessen wird man bei Piazzolla nicht finden.

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

1992 ist Astor Piazzolla gestorben. Der Tango lebt jedoch weiter, und zwar in dem von Piazzolla erneuerten Stil ebenso wie in seiner traditionellen Form. Das zeigt auch dieses Album. Aus der jüngeren Generation kann man Pasquale Stafano kennenlernen, der sich – wie vor ihm Piazzolla – einfallsreich für die Verschmelzung von Tango und Jazz engagiert.

José Carli wiederum präsentiert zwei argentinische Charakterstudien: zum einen La Diquera (Hörprobe bei Amazon) und zum anderen ein Porträt des Tango-Pianisten Para Osvaldo Tarantino, das zugleich eine wunderbar nostalgische Reminiszenz an den Tango alter Schule ist (Hörprobe bei Amazon). Zu dessen prominentesten Vertretern gehört Horacio Salgán: Altersgenosse Piazzollas und hier vertreten mit seiner wohl berühmtesten Komposition A Don Agustín Bardi (Hörprobe bei Amazon).

Piazzolla hat nicht nur nachgeborene Tango-Komponisten inspiriert, sondern auch Legionen von Bearbeitern. Wer beispielsweise nach Arrangements von Libertango forscht, wird auf die unglaublichsten Interpretationen stoßen: Von Grace Jones bis zum japanischen Ukulele-Duo ist alles dabei. Eine Piazzolla- Bearbeitung für Cello-Ensemble ist da eine vergleichsweise naheliegende Idee, weil das Timbre von Piazzollas Instrument – des Bandoneons – dem des Cellos nicht so fern ist.

Dessen ungeachtet bedeutet das Arrangieren dieser Musik eine gewaltige Arbeit, wie David Riniker erläutert: »Da ich von der Mehrheit der Stücke keine Noten habe und sie von Aufnahmen durch unzähliges Wiederanhören abgeschrieben habe, dauert es bisweilen Monate, bis eine Bearbeitung fertiggestellt ist. Sie schwirrt in der intensivsten Zeit dann Tag und Nacht durch meinen Kopf. Manchmal träume ich davon. Es ist auch schon vorgekommen, dass ich am Morgen die Lösung einer Stelle ganz klar wusste.«

Die 12 Cellisten - © Uwe Arens

Hinzu kommt, dass diese Arrangements nicht für irgendwelche anonymen Cellisten angefertigt werden, sondern für dieses spezifische Ensemble. Jeder Musiker bekommt seine Stimmen auf den Leib geschrieben, entsprechend seinen Vorlieben und besonderen Fähigkeiten. Auch dieses Verfahren ist aufwändig, aber es nutzt das Potential der 12 Cellisten optimal aus. Umso begeisterter war David Riniker, als 2013 Bruno Delepelaire als 1. Solocellist zu den Berliner Philharmonikern stieß: ein Musiker, dessen technisches Können keine Grenzen zu kennen scheint. Für ihn schrieb Riniker das virtuose Solo in Tres minutos con la realidad (Hörprobe bei Amazon).

Dass die 12 Cellisten alle diese Mühen auf sich nehmen, lässt nur einen Schluss zu: dass ihre Liebe zum Tango mindestens so frisch ist wie am ersten Tag. Woher diese Begeisterung kommt? Eine Aussage von Ludwig Quandt gibt einen Hinweis: »Ein durchschnittlicher Tango dauert zwischen drei und sechs Minuten, ist also ein ziemlich kurzes Stück. Woran liegt es, dass er trotzdem wie ein kleiner eigener Kosmos wirkt? Ist es die Kraft der Themen, die manchmal nur aus wenigen Tönen bestehen? Ist es die Harmonik mit ihren schwungvollen und manchmal abrupten Wechseln? Ist es der Kontrast zwischen Lyrik und Motorik, zwischen Stillstand und Rasanz, Liebe und Hoffnungslosigkeit? Die Antwort kann nur lauten: ja, und es ist noch mehr – das ganze Leben.«

Entdecken Sie mehr von dieser CD bei:

  •  iTunes
  •  Amazon CD

Credits: